Energy Trust of Oregon 421 SW Oak St., Suite 300 Portland, Oregon 97204 Telephone: 1-866-368-7878 Facsimile: 503-546-6862

energytrust.org



**NEWS** 

March 4, 2020

For Immediate Release Nicole Shaddy 971-732-4391 nshaddy@cplusc.com

## **Energy Trust of Oregon adds Alexia Kelly, Erik J. Andersson** to board of directors

New members replace Debbie Kitchin and Roger Hamilton, who retired in February

PORTLAND, Ore. — March 4, 2020 — The Energy Trust of Oregon Board of Directors has unanimously approved the appointments of Alexia Kelly and Erik J. Andersson to the board. They will replace longtime members Debbie Kitchin and Roger Hamilton, who <u>retired in February</u>.

"We're grateful Alexia and Erik have agreed to join our board," said Michael Colgrove, executive director, Energy Trust. "Their new perspectives will help us effectively navigate an industry and market sector that is experiencing a lot of change—changes in our state's demographics, changes in the needs of utilities to manage their resources and the demands of customers, and changes in technologies that will help more people benefit from clean energy."

Kelly, who lives in Hood River, works at the intersection of policy and finance to accelerate the transition to a zero-carbon economy. She is founder and CEO of Electric Capital Management, a clean energy and climate policy advisory firm. Prior to that, she was a senior climate change adviser and foreign service officer with the U.S. Department of State, where she directed an initiative on low emissions development. She served on Energy Trust's Renewable Energy Advisory Council and will continue as the board's representative to the council. She is also an appointee to the Hood River County Energy Council.

Andersson, who lives in Salem, brings an understanding of how renewable energy and energy efficiency can be leveraged to promote economic development, particularly in rural areas. He is president of SEDCOR, or Strategic Economic Development Corporation, an economic development nonprofit with more than 450 members in Oregon's Mid-Willamette Valley. He previously served as economic development manager for Tacoma Public Utilities and as economic development manager for Pacific Power.

In its recruiting efforts, Energy Trust's board nominating committee reached out to community-based organizations and local leaders across the state to raise awareness of the opportunity to serve on the board and find members who represent diverse backgrounds. Hamilton, the outgoing board president, said Kelly and Andersson will bring valuable experience working with rural customers.

"Energy Trust programs need to reach the people who are most vulnerable and bear the heaviest energy burden in both urban and rural communities across the state," said Kelly. "If you look at a map of energy burdened customers, it gets really dark the farther away from Portland and Salem you go. Designing effective and efficient programs that meet the needs of diverse communities today is both a challenge and an opportunity for Energy Trust."

"I work with businesses in traditional industries like agriculture and wood products where technological innovation is a requirement to remain competitive," said Andersson. "Energy Trust and its utility partners can play a strong role in helping traditional industries continue to find ways to innovate and remain economic drivers of the region well into the future."

Kitchin and Hamilton served on the board for 16 and 12 years, respectively. Their service and commitment to energy conservation will be honored by the state in the form of a letter from Gov. Kate Brown. With Hamilton's departure, Melissa Cribbins of Coos Bay will take on the role of board president.

"We are deeply grateful for the time and expertise both Debbie and Roger have lent to Energy Trust during their tenures on our board," said Colgrove. "I have personally valued their guidance and vision for our organization, and we as a staff have benefitted immensely from their contributions on the board."

Energy Trust is led by a board of directors made up of non-stakeholder volunteers who set the organization's strategic direction, policies and budget. The other voting members are Susan Brodahl, Heffernan Insurance Brokers, Portland; Melissa Cribbins, Coos County Commission, Coos Bay; Ernesto Fonseca, Hacienda CDC, Portland; Lindsey Hardy, The Environmental Center, Bend; Eric Hayes, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Beaverton; Elee Jen, Energy Performance Engineering, Newberg; Mark Kendall, Kendall Energy, Salem; Henry Lorenzen, retired attorney and member of Northwest Power and Conservation Council, Pendleton; and Alan Meyer, retired from Weyerhaeuser, Salem; Anne Haworth Root, EdenVale Winery and Eden Valley Orchards, Medford; and Roland Risser, retired from the U.S. Department of Energy, Washington County. Janine Benner of the Oregon Department of Energy and Letha Tawney of the Oregon Public Utility Commission serve as non-voting members.

Energy Trust of Oregon is an independent nonprofit organization dedicated to helping utility customers benefit from saving energy and generating renewable power. Our services, cash incentives and energy solutions have helped participating customers of Portland General Electric, Pacific Power, NW Natural, Cascade Natural Gas and Avista save \$3.4 billion on energy bills. Our work helps keep energy costs as low as possible, creates jobs and builds a sustainable energy future. Learn more at www.energytrust.org or call 1-866-368-7878.