Energy Trust of Oregon 421 SW Oak St., Suite 300 Portland, Oregon 97204 Telephone: 1-866-368-7878 Facsimile: 503-546-6862 energytrust.org



## **NEWS**

March 7, 2022

For Immediate Release Emily Findley 503.459.4061 emily.findley@energytrust.org

## Two new board members bring industry expertise and new perspectives to Energy Trust of Oregon

PORTLAND, Ore. — March 7, 2022 — During a public meeting last month, the Energy Trust of Oregon Board of Directors appointed two new volunteer members: Silvia Tanner of Portland and Dr. Peter Therkelsen of Ashland. Both have extensive experience in the energy sector, and both are committed to energy justice and exploring new ways to bring clean and affordable energy to communities underserved by Energy Trust.

"These two new appointments expand our current board's expertise and add fresh perspectives to Energy Trust's work," said Michael Colgrove, Energy Trust executive director. "Silvia's energy justice background and understanding of regulatory, policy and legislative issues and Peter's research and development experience will help us bring clean and affordable energy to customers and communities as we navigate an increasingly dynamic energy industry."

"Silvia and Peter are great additions to the Energy Trust board. Their backgrounds are well-suited to helping the nonprofit achieve cost-effective energy efficiency and pass the savings on to all utility customers," said Henry Lorenzen, Energy Trust board president.

Tanner has extensive experience with energy justice issues at the local, state and federal level. She is currently a senior energy policy and legal analyst for the Multnomah County Office of Sustainability. In her role, she works to achieve Multnomah County's community-wide renewable energy goals, provides analysis to guide the county's energy policy positions, and addresses how seemingly neutral energy policies can prevent equitable access to energy.

"I am excited to join the Energy Trust board and contribute to an organization that is key to ensuring a clean and just energy future for Oregonians," said Tanner.

Tanner, who holds a Juris Doctor degree from Lewis and Clark Law School and a bachelor's degree in economics from Portland State University, is passionate about trying to understand how race and income impact a person's access to affordable and clean energy. An immigrant from Latin America, Tanner works on identifying and addressing barriers that people of color and others who have been underserved by clean energy programs face. Her background gives her a powerful lens to view energy and equity issues.

A resident of Ashland, Peter Therkelsen is deputy of the Building and Industrial Applications Department at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory where he leads research and development of industrial energy efficiency and energy management programs. His research focuses on industrial energy management business practices and policies as well as the development and deployment of responsible heat and power technologies. His perspective is informed by working with energy programs in both urban and rural areas, and at a local, national and global level. Therkelsen holds a doctorate in mechanical engineering from the University of California, Irvine.

"Energy Trust has a critical role to play to deliver equitable energy efficiency, ensuring Oregonians can enhance their comfort, competitiveness and quality of life through the energy economy transformation," said Therkelsen.

Along with the two new members, Energy Trust's board of directors elected new officers for 2022. The board president is Henry Lorenzen of Pendleton, former member of the Northwest Power and Conservation Council. Roland Risser of Washington County, retired U.S. Department of Energy director of the Building Technologies Office and deputy assistant secretary of Renewable Power, will be vice president. Eric Hayes, Beaverton, brings experience as the state organizing coordinator for the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers to the secretary role. The treasurer will be Susan Brodahl, vice president of the Portland office of Heffernan Insurance Brokers.

Energy Trust is led by a board of directors made up of non-stakeholder volunteers who set the organization's strategic direction, policies and budget. The other voting members are Erik J. Andersson, Strategic Economic Development Corporation, Salem; Melissa Cribbins, Coos County Commission, Coos Bay; Ernesto Fonseca, Hacienda CDC, Portland; Elee Jen, Energy Performance Engineering, Newberg; Alexia Kelly, Netflix, Hood River; and Anne Haworth Root, EdenVale Winery and Eden Valley Orchards, Medford. Janine Benner of the Oregon Department of Energy and Letha Tawney of the Oregon Public Utility Commission serve as nonvoting members.

Energy Trust of Oregon is an independent nonprofit organization dedicated to helping utility customers and communities benefit from saving energy and generating renewable power. Our services, cash incentives and energy solutions have helped participating customers of Portland General Electric, Pacific Power, NW Natural, Cascade Natural Gas and Avista save \$4.6 billion on energy bills. Our work helps keep energy costs as low as possible, creates jobs and builds a sustainable energy future. Learn more at www.energytrust.org or call 1-866-368-7878.

**END**