Board Orientation Meeting Minutes – 211th Meeting May 9th, 2023



Board members present: Ellsworth Lang, Eric Hayes, Henry Lorenzen, Jane Peters, Thelma Fleming, William Tovey, Janine Benner (Oregon Department of Energy special advisor, ex officio) Letha Tawney (Oregon Public Utility Commission, ex officio),

Board members absent: Anne Haworth Root, Ellen Zuckerman, Melissa Cribbins, Peter Therkelsen, Roland Risser, Silvia Tanner, Susan Brodahl,

Staff attending: Alex Novie, Amanda Potter, Betsy Kauffman, Cheryle Easton, Chris Dunning, Danielle Rhodes, Debbie Menashe, Elaine Dado, Fred Gordon, Greg Stokes, Hannah Cruz, Jake Kennedy, Jay Ward, Lizzie Rubado, Melanie Bissonnette, Michael Colgrove, Natalia Ojeda, Oliver Kesting, Sloan Schang, Spencer Moersfelder, Steve Lacey, Sue Fletcher, Thad Roth, Tracy Scott

Others attending: Leland Davis (DThree), Griffin DeWitt (D Three), Roy Payne (DThree)

Energy Trust Board President Henry Lorenzen called the meeting to order at 10:03 a.m.

President Henry Lorenzen introduced new board members, Ellsworth Lang, Bill Tovey, and Jane Peters, and provided a summary of their resumes.

Program Overview

The orientation program opened with information on Energy Trust's energy efficiency and renewable energy programs. Each of the Energy Trust program sector leads presented information on their programs: Thad Roth, Residential Sector Lead, Oliver Kesting, Commercial Sector Lead, Betsy Kauffman, Renewable Energy Sector Lead, Amanda Potter, Industrial and Agriculture Sector Lead, and Alex Novie, Communities and New Initiatives (CaNI) Sector Lead. The presentations focused on providing detail about the programs to new board members so that they have more familiarity with information presented throughout their board service.

The orientation session broke out for lunch at 12:03pm among new board members and others attending. President Henry Lorenzen reconvened the orientation at 1:00 pm.

Board reconvened at 1:00pm

Following lunch, new board members heard presentations from the following Energy Trust staff:

- Lizzie Rubado, Director of Innovation and Development (InnDev) on the work of the InnDev Group
- Chief Financial Officer Chris Dunning and Melanie Bissonnette, Senior Project Manager regarding Energy Trust's annual Business Planning and Budget Development processes
- Sloan Schang, Marketing and Communications Lead, and Sue Fletcher, Communications and Customer Service Senior Manager, on Energy Trust Outreach and Marketing and Communications and Reporting work
- Hannah Cruz, Senior Stakeholder Relations and Policy Manager regarding Energy Trust's
 Policy Services and Stakeholder Relations work

Board Orientation Meeting Minutes

- Jake Kennedy, Project Manager in the Energy Trust's Planning and Evaluation group and Alex Novie, CaNI Sector Lead, discussing Energy Trust's measure development and cost-effectiveness calculation. In this section, new board members were provided information about cost-effectiveness and above-market cost as the key economic measures for implementing energy efficiency programs.
- Spencer Moersfelder, Planning Manager in Energy Trust's Planning and Evaluation Group, on Energy Trust's work in utility integrated resource planning and energy efficiency resource assessment
- Chief Financial Officer Chris Dunning on Energy Trust's revenue determination in coordination with its funding utilities
- Debbie Menashe, Director of Legal and Human Resources, on Energy Trust's board governance policies and processes

After the subject matter presentations by Energy Trust staff, Executive Director Michael Colgrove asked new board members for their thoughts on the orientation module information provided to them. These modules cover Energy Trust information previously provided in a separate board orientation session. New board members expressed their satisfaction with the modules, noting that they enable them to go at their own pace in review and go back to them as needed for information.

Michael introduced Hannah Cruz and Greg Stokes, Organization Development Manager, who have helped put the modules together. Michael thanked Hannah and Greg for their work.

Adjourn Meeting

President Henry Lorenzen adjourned the meeting at 3:28 pm.

DocuSigned by: Eric Hayes

Signed: Eric Hayes

7/17/2023

The next regular meeting of the Energy Trust Board of Directors will be held Wednesday, June 15, 2023, at 10:00 a.m. hybrid on Zoom and in Coos Bay, location to be determined.