Skip to Main Content

Energy Trust of Oregon board elects new officers for 2014

New officers continue nonprofit’s tradition of excellent board leadership

PORTLAND, Ore. — April 15, 2014 — Energy Trust of Oregon Board of Directors has elected new officers for 2014. Debbie Kitchin was elected president, Ken Canon was elected vice president, Alan Meyer was re-elected secretary and Dan Enloe was re-elected treasurer of the nonprofit’s board of directors.

“Each officer brings unique expertise and a deep commitment to Energy Trust’s mission, continuing our long tradition of excellent board leadership,” said Margie Harris, executive director, Energy Trust. “Together, our board provides the guidance necessary to deliver energy-efficiency and renewable energy solutions that help keep energy costs as low as possible for our customers and add clean power to the grid.”

Drawn from communities around the state, Energy Trust directors represent a broad spectrum of expertise from the private sector and public institutions. Board members, all volunteers, provide strategic and policy direction for the nonprofit, which designs and delivers programs that help residential, commercial, industrial and agricultural customers save energy and generate renewable power. The 15-member board approves the organization’s annual budget and major expenditures. Board members bring independent viewpoints to their oversight of Energy Trust, which operates under a grant agreement with the Oregon Public Utility Commission.

Debbie Kitchin, a Portland resident and co-owner of InterWorks, LLC, in Portland, was elected president of the Energy Trust Board of Directors. Kitchin joined the board in 2004, serving three terms as vice president from 2011-2013 and four terms as secretary from 2007-2011. Her construction business, InterWorks, LLC, is an award-winning company specializing in sustainable building practices applied to commercial tenant improvement and residential remodeling. Kitchin replaced John Reynolds, a professor of architecture emeritus at the University of Oregon in Eugene. Reynolds was first named board president in 2008 and served for six terms. He is a founding board member and helped guide the organization since its inception more than 12 years ago.

Ken Canon, a Myrtle Creek resident and co-owner of Canon and Hutton law firm, was elected vice president of the Energy Trust Board of Directors. Canon joined the board in 2012. He founded in 1981 the Industrial Customers of Northwest Utilities, a regional trade association focused on electric energy issues. Since retiring from that role in 2005, Ken chaired a committee that examined the performance of the Northwest Energy Efficiency Alliance and also managed the Northwest Energy Efficiency Task Force. Earlier in his career, while working for Associated Oregon Industries, he drafted and helped enact Oregon’s Business Energy Tax Credit. Later, he helped implement a comprehensive energy-efficiency program at an International Paper mill.

Alan Meyer, a Salem resident and director of energy management for Weyerhaeuser Company, was elected to a second term as secretary of the Energy Trust Board of Directors. Meyer joined the board in 2005, bringing expertise in energy efficiency for industrial operations. He is responsible for energy management activities at Weyerhaeuser’s forest products plants throughout North America.

Dan Enloe, a Washington County resident and supply chain manager at Intel Corporation, was elected to a third term as treasurer of the Energy Trust Board of Directors. Enloe joined the board in 2008. He was elected treasurer in November 2011 to fill a vacancy and re-elected to the position from 2012-2014. Before joining Intel in 1984, Enloe was a nuclear submarine officer with the U.S. Navy.

Other members currently serving on Energy Trust’s board include Rick Applegate, Applegate Consulting, Portland; Susan Brodahl, Heffernan Insurance Brokers, Portland; Melissa Cribbins, Coos County Commission, Coos Bay; Roger Hamilton, Western Grid Group, Eugene; Anne Haworth Root, EdenVale Winery and Eden Valley Orchards, Medford; Mark Kendall, Kendall Energy, Salem; Kenneth Mitchell-Phillips Sr., Easy Legal Northwest, Inc., Portland; John Reynolds, University of Oregon, Eugene; John Savage, Oregon Public Utility Commission, Salem; Lisa Schwartz, Oregon Department of Energy, Salem; Dave Slavensky, Structus Building Technologies, Bend.

Representatives from the OPUC and the Oregon Department of Energy serve as non-voting board members. Eight of the 13 voting board members are from outside the Portland region.

All board meetings are open to the public. View board meeting dates, agendas and materials online at

Energy Trust of Oregon is an independent nonprofit organization dedicated to helping utility customers benefit from saving energy and generating renewable power. Our services, cash incentives and energy solutions have helped participating customers of Portland General Electric, Pacific Power, NW Natural and Cascade Natural Gas save more than $1.3 billion on energy bills. Our work helps keep energy costs as low as possible, creates jobs and builds a sustainable energy future. Learn more at or call 1-866-368-7878.

Category: General News