Skip to Main Content

Energy Trust of Oregon board elects officers for 2017

The board re-elected three members to leadership posts and appointed a new treasurer

PORTLAND, Ore. — March 7, 2017 — Energy Trust of Oregon Board of Directors has elected officers for 2017. Susan Brodahl was elected as the new treasurer while Debbie Kitchin was re-elected president, Ken Canon was re-elected vice president and Alan Meyer was re-elected secretary.

“Energy Trust is strengthened by the skills and oversight of our volunteer board,” said Michael Colgrove, executive director, Energy Trust. “This new slate of officers will provide valuable leadership as Energy Trust continues to deliver services and results at and above the level of performance that Oregon ratepayers have come to expect.”

Energy Trust directors represent a broad spectrum of expertise from the private sector and public institutions. All volunteers, board members provide strategic and policy direction for the nonprofit, which helps residential, commercial, industrial and agricultural customers save energy and generate renewable power, delivering benefits to all utility customers. The 15-member board approves the organization’s annual budget and major expenditures.

The new treasurer, Susan Brodahl, is a vice president in the Portland office of Heffernan Insurance Brokers and an owner of Heffernan Group. Susan is a frequent featured speaker at regional and national conventions and is published in various trade and mainstream journals. She replaced Dan Enloe, who served as treasurer since 2012.

The returning president, Debbie Kitchin, is a Portland resident and co-owner of InterWorks, LLC, in Portland, a construction business specializing in sustainable building practices. Kitchin joined the board in 2004, serving three terms as vice president from 2011-2013 and four terms as secretary from 2007-2011. She was elected president in 2014.

Ken Canon, a Myrtle Creek resident and co-owner of Canon and Hutton law firm, was re-elected vice president. He was first elected vice president in 2014. Canon joined the board in 2012. In 1981, he founded the Industrial Customers of Northwest Utilities, a regional trade association focused on electric energy issues.

Alan Meyer, a Salem resident and retired director of energy management for Weyerhaeuser Company, was re-elected as secretary. He has held the office since 2013 and originally joined the board in 2005, bringing expertise in energy efficiency for industrial operations.

Other members currently serving on Energy Trust’s board include Melissa Cribbins, Coos County Commission, Coos Bay; Heather Beusse Eberhardt, NextEra Energy Resources, Portland; Dan Enloe, retired from Intel, Washington County; Roger Hamilton, retired from Western Grid Group, Eugene; Lindsey Hardy, The Environmental Center, Bend; Mark Kendall, Kendall Energy, Salem; John Reynolds, University of Oregon, Eugene; Anne Haworth Root, EdenVale Winery and Eden Valley Orchards, Medford; Eddie Patrick Sherman, Against the Current Consulting Group, Portland; Stephen Bloom, Oregon Public Utility Commission, Salem; and Warren Cook, Oregon Department of Energy, Salem.

Representatives from the OPUC and the Oregon Department of Energy serve as non-voting board members. Eight of the 13 voting board members are from outside the Portland region.

All board meetings are open to the public. View the full board roster and board meeting dates, agendas and materials online at

Energy Trust of Oregon is an independent nonprofit organization dedicated to helping utility customers benefit from saving energy and generating renewable power. Our services, cash incentives and energy solutions have helped participating customers of Portland General Electric, Pacific Power, NW Natural, Cascade Natural Gas and Avista save more than $2.3 billion on energy bills. Our work helps keep energy costs as low as possible, creates jobs and builds a sustainable energy future. Learn more at or call 1-866-368-7878.

Category: General News
Download PDF